The Fredericksburg Police Department will administer written and physical agility tests for the position of full-time police officer throughout 2021. Click here for the hiring announcement and instructions on how to apply. If you would like to practice the obstacle course or any of the fitness exercises, contact Sergeant Menck. Testing dates are:
- January 14th at 12:00 a.m.
- January 15th at 12:00 a.m.
- February 11th at 12:00 p.m.
- February 12th at 12:00 p.m.
- March 11th at 10:00 a.m.
- March 12th at 10:00 a.m.
- April 8th at 9:00 a.m.
- April 9th at 9:00 a.m.
- May 27th at 8:00 a.m.
- May 28th at 8:00 a.m.
- June 24th at 8:00 a.m.
- June 25th at 8:00 a.m.
The Fredericksburg Police Department is seeking highly motivated people who are physically fit and ready to make a difference in their community. Here's some information about a career with our agency.
- Base salary $51,018
- Incentives for applicants with Associate’s, Bachelor’s or Master’s Degree
- Incentives for applicants fluent in Spanish
- Take-Home Vehicle Program
- BDU style uniforms
- On-duty, paid, work-out time
- Facial hair permitted
- Tattoos permitted (tattoos on the neck, face or head are not permitted)
- Free gym membership at Gold’s Gym
- 24/7 on-site fitness facility
- Strong community support
- Modern police facility
- Career development program
- Tuition reimbursement
- Full pay while attending Rappahannock Regional Criminal Justice Academy
- K-9, Detective, Crisis Negotiators, SETT, UAS
- Competitive City benefits and retirement through VRS
Ready to get started? The Fredericksburg Police Department administers written and physical agility testing for the position of police officer throughout the year; applicants should plan to attend both the written and physical agility testing on dates that are scheduled throughout the year. Email Sergeant Menck for upcoming testing dates. Employment applications are not accepted for the position of police officer until an applicant has passed both the written and physical agility tests.
What if I am already a DCJS-certified law enforcement officer in Virginia?
Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) Law Enforcement certified officers are processed on a continual basis, and the written test is waived for certified officers. Certified candidates must complete the Lawfit obstacle course in 1:36 or less. Email Sergeant Chris Menck to begin the process. Those officers who are DCJS-certified in a state other than Virginia must attend the police academy and are subject to the complete requirements of the non-certified hiring process.
A qualified applicant must:
- Be a citizen of the United States
- Be at least 21 years of age at the time of graduation from the basic police academy
- Possess a valid driver’s license
- Be a high school graduate or possess a GED certificate
Disqualifiers may include the following:
- DUI conviction within the last 5 years
- History of a driver’s license suspension or revocation due to a moving violation within the last 5 years
- Felony convictions
- Misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude (lying, cheating or stealing) such as shoplifting, fraud, larceny, perjury, etc.
- Sex offense convictions
- To view a complete list of applicant disqualifiers, click here.
The police officer selection process includes the following steps:
- Written testing
- Physical agility testing
- Polygraph examination
- Psychological screening
- Background investigation
- Police ride-along
- Senior panel interview
- Interview with the Chief of Police
- Medical screening
- Drug screening
What happens if I fail the written test or physical agility test (PAT)?
You may apply no sooner than 1 month after failing either the written or physical agility test.
If I’m hired by your Department, how much does the academy cost me?
Nothing! We will pay for you to attend the academy and you will also receive your full salary while you are attending the academy.
If I do not get hired by your agency, can I obtain my own certification?
Yes. The cost of attending RRCJA for an LE certification is about $5,000, which does not include the additional fees for background checks. If you are a military veteran, it is possible that your GI Bill or Veteran’s Benefits can be applied to pay for your academy training. For more information, please reach out to your Veteran’s Benefits Representative.
I’m a military veteran with GI Bill benefits. Can I collect a housing allowance while in the academy?
Yes. RRCJA is an approved training site for this purpose. Please reach out to your Veteran’s Benefits Representative for more information.
Do I need to buy my own uniforms?
No. The Fredericksburg Police Department outfits each officer with the uniforms, safety equipment and tools needed to do their job.
How does retirement work?
The City of Fredericksburg is a participating member of the Virginia Retirement System (VRS). Being a full-time salaried sworn local police officer may also qualify you for hazardous duty benefits upon retirement.
What type of shift will I work?
Each officer begins their career in the patrol division. Patrol shifts are 11 hours and officers will be assigned a day, evening or night shift, alternating between a 4 and 5 day-off cycle. The schedule looks like this: Work Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday; off Friday, Saturday, Sunday, Monday, Tuesday; work Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday; off Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday.
Do you have take-home cars?
Yes, if you live within the City of Fredericksburg. If you do not live in the City, some special assignments like K-9 and Community Police Officer (CPO) also have take-home cars. You may also take your car home if you are on-duty and a member of Special Equipment Tactical Team (SETT).
How long does the hiring process take?
It can take anywhere from 3-5 months to complete the hiring process from the time of initial testing.
What is your tattoo and facial hair policy?
Officers may display tattoos while in uniform as long as they are not on the face, neck or head, and are not considered offensive. Officers may also have a goatee while in uniform; full beards are not allowed as they interfere with the wearing of a respirator.
Do I have to sign an employment contract?
Yes. Training and equipping officers, at no cost to the officer, is expensive. The Fredericksburg Police Department requires that officers sign a four year service contract.
Can you tell me more about RRCJA?
Fredericksburg Police officers attend the Rappahannock Regional Criminal Justice Academy. The academy is about 20 weeks long and a typical schedule will include 10-hour days from Monday- Thursday. RRCJA is a regional academy and has over 30 member agencies. Recruits will travel to-and-from the academy each day; the academy is not live-in. Physical fitness training at the academy will include push-ups, sit-ups, pull-ups, 1.5 mile – 2 mile runs, and an obstacle course.
What does the initial physical agility test consist of?
All applicants must be able to perform at a minimum standard using the LawFit fitness test profile. The LawFit assessment includes the following exercises:
- One repetition of maximum weight bench press
- One minute sit-ups
- Sit & Reach
- Maximum pull-ups
- Maximum push-ups
- 1.5 mile run
- LawFit Obstacle Course